Gloomy But Happy

It’s been so gloomy lately. Lots of rain and snow and gray skies. Sometimes it’s so hard to be happy on these days. My mood is definitely not great on rainy gloomy days.

As I was watching my little one looking out the window I noticed she wasn’t affected in a bad way at all by the rain. In fact it brought a smile to her face. She started saying “Peppa boot Peppa boot!” I knew right away what she meant. I just got her a pair of rubber rain boots because every time we are leaving to go somewhere and it’s rainy, she wants to splash in the muddy puddles like Peppa pig does. I usually can’t let her because her shoes are too low or the fabric would just get soaked all the way through so the new rain boots have become her favorite thing.

Anyway, before I go off onto a totally different topic (I tend to do that and forget my point completely) her ability to be able to be positive about something that’s usually a negative, such as a rainy day, was so refreshing. As a child we don’t really know negativity, it’s learned over time which is kind of sad. I could stand to learn a thing or two by watching my littles and turning negatives into positives. It’s easier said than done, I know, but these moments give me hope!

Leave a comment